News from the Source

Thunderbird, Challenge VII at Salina set for this weekend

Thunderbird, Challenge VII at Salina set for this weekend

John Rittenoure - TULSA, Okla. (September 19, 2022) - It has been nearly two months since the AmeriFlex / OCRS IMCA Sprint Cars have raced in sanctioned competition. But that is about to end.

Friday racing resumes at Thunderbird Speedway’s historic half mile. Saturday Salina Highbanks Speedway will host AmeriFlex Challenge VII.

It will be the second visit to Thunderbird this season. John Carney II won his first career OCRS feature at Thunderbird on March 26 with Whit Gastineau finishing second.

One year ago Gastineau won at Thunderbird then finished 2nd the next night at the AmeriFlex Challenge VI. Gastineau undoubtedly would like to improve on that this weekend by winning at Thunderbird again and improving on his finish in the AmeriFlex Challenge.

This years AmeriFlex Challenge will once again pay $3,000 to the winner with no less then $1,000 to anyone qualifying for the 20-car main event.

Blake Hahn is the defending champion. Hahn was driving in his first OCRS career event behind the wheel of the Elizabeth Phillips owned sprinter. Alex Sewell is the only repeat Challenge winner with wins coming in 2019-20. Mike Goodman won in 2018, the late Mickey Walker picked up the 2017 victory and Sean McClelland won the first Challenge in 2016.

Race time Friday at Thunderbird is 7:30 p.m. with pit gates open at 4.Saturday gates open at 3 and racing begins at 7.

Top 10 Standings: Blake Edwards 1514; 2. Rees Moran 1491; 3. Terry Easum 1444; 4. Whit Gastineau 1155; 5. Sheldon Barksdale 1116 6. Elizabeth Phillips 981; 7. Joe Bob Lee 901. 8. Johnny Kent 856; 9. Danny Smith 800; 10. Steven Shebester 770.

2022 Winners: 3/4 - Steven Shebester (Red Dirt Raceway); 3/5 - Tyler Drueke (Red Dirt Raceway); 3/19 - Blake Edwards (Creek County Speedway); 3/25 - John Carney II (Thunderbird Speedway); 3/26 - Tanner Conn (Lawton Speedway); 4/9 - Terry Easum (Oklahoma Sports Park); 4/23 - Johnny Kent (Creek County Speedway); 5/20 - Danny Smith (Tulsa Speedway); 5/21 - Steven Shebester (81 Speedway); 5/28 - Alex Sewell (Salina Highbanks Speedway); 6/24 - Tanner Conn (Red Dirt Raceway); 6/25 - Kyle Clark (Tri-State Speedway); 7/9 - Steven Shebester (Lawton Speedway); 7/22 - Whit Gastineau (Lake Ozark Speedway); 7/23 - Rees Moran (Lake Ozark Speedway).

About the AmeriFlex / OCRS Series -
Established in 2002, the Tulsa OK based AmeriFlex / OCRS series sanctions dirt track sprint car racing in the southern region of the central plains. Fan appeal and quality race teams, combined with our solid core of supporting sponsors are the nucleus of the series. Thrilling competition providing the ultimate quality family entertainment is the essence of what the AmeriFlex / OCRS series is all about.

About Ameri-Flex Hose & Accessories -?
Located in Tulsa OK, AmeriFlex Hose & Accessories is a family owned and operated company. From food grade hose to hoses for the petroleum industry, Ameri-Flex will strive to fill your needs. AmeriFlex can build a hose to your specifications or we will assist you in creating what you have designed while you wait. Ameri-Flex has several hard to find items that some vendors can’t get or find. Product can be shipped quickly and efficiently. If we do not have what you are looking for, we will direct you on where to find it. Give us a try, after all…………..?AmeriFlex Has The Stuff That Keeps You Going!


AmeriFlex / OCRS IMCA Contingency Sponsors
?AmeriFlex Hose & Accessories, Hoosier Racing Tires, Smileys Racing Products, Schoenfeld, Brodix, Lucas Oil, RacinDirt.TV, Schure Built Suspension, Lightning Wings & Powder Coating, Smith Titanium, MyRacePass.

Forgot Password?