News from the Source

2013 Celebrated at Lucas Oil Knoxville Championship Cup Series Banquet!

(Bill W) November 16, 2013 - The Knoxville Raceway banquet was held on Saturday, November 16 at the Prairie Meadows Racetrack and Casino in Altoona, Iowa. Assorted cash and contingencies totaling over $250,000 for owners and drivers capped off an entertaining evening.

A total of eight chassis giveaways highlighted a contingency package which every driver in the points benefited (see prize list with winners below). In addition, the Knoxville Raceway Charitable Organization (KRCO) again provided insurance covering all Knoxville drivers for 2013 anywhere they may race plus a gift certificate from Simpson. In addition, the KRCO will provide mandated front axle tethers for drivers in 2014.

After dinner, and comedian Don Reese, General Manager, Brian Stickel, opened the Awards program up with a few announcements for 2014. Youth up to seniors in high school will be admitted free of charge again for four events. The big announcement included a deal with MavTV to broadcast 16-20 thirty-minute shows featuring Knoxville Raceway events next season. Stickel also showed TV spots that will be used in 2014 that will bring a different message to a broader audience.

Drivers and owners outside of the top five in each of the three respective classes received their accolades.

The “Jr. Fan Club Drivers of the Year” were announced. Dustin Selvage (410), Joe Beaver (36) and Mitchell Alexander (305) won in each class. Young fan, Angel Bingham was honored as the “Jr. Fan Club Member of the Year”.

Marion County Fair Board Member, Grant Rankin, presented the “Fan of the Year Award” to long-time Knoxville Raceway supporters Galen and Sherri Palmer.

On behalf of the safety crew, Mark Worrall presented a “Special Recognition Award” to Randy Brisel who served on the crew for forty years before retiring this season. Brisel received a standing ovation.

Race Director, John McCoy, presented “Owner of the Year” Awards to the Bruce and Matt Stephenson #55 (305), the Boyd and Glenda Fluth #40 (360) and the Brett Nehring #18 (410).

“Team of the Year” Awards went to the L&J Enterprise #5J team (305), the Beaver Motorsports #53 team (360) and the Maeschen Motorsports #96 team (410).

Bob Baker, the National Sprint Car Hall of Fame & Museum Executive Director, presented the “Heritage Award” to longtime sprint car contributor, Bob Dyer.

The "Lyle Boyd Hard Charger Award" awards the drivers who passed the most cars in A main events this season. Larry Ball Jr. received the award in the 305 class, with Russ Hall (360) Tasker Phillips (410).

Bryan Sundby of BDS Motorsports was named the “Sportsman of the Year” in the 410 class, while the Clint Garner team picked up the honor in the 360 class. The Kinder Racing team won the award in the 305 class based on their donations to tornado victims in Oklahoma. Mike Mayberry (305), Zach Blurton (360), and Garrett Dollansky (410) were named “Rookie of the Year” in their respective classes.

The big hardware went out last to the top five drivers and owners in the point standings. In the 305 class, Mike Mayberry (5th), Steve Breazeale (4th), Matt Stephenson (3rd), J Kinder (2nd) and Larry Ball Jr. (champion) were honored in the driver category, while Mayberry (5th), Denny Vrban (4th), Stephenson (3rd), Kinder Racing (2nd), and L&J Enterprise (champion) received their owner awards.

In the 360 class, Jon Agan (5th), Jamie Ball (4th), Nate Van Haaften (3rd), Joe Beaver (2nd) and Clint Garner (champion) were honored in the driver category, while Agan Motorsports (5th), L&J Enterprise (4th), Van Haaften Racing (3rd), Beaver Motorporst (2nd), and Boyd and Glenda Fluth (champion) received owner awards. The championships were the fifth in a row for Garner and the Fluth’s.

In the 410 class, Dusty Zomer (5th), Davey Heskin (4th), Terry McCarl (3rd), Ian Madsen (2nd) and Bronson Maeschen (champion) were drivers honored, while owner awards went to Derek Ingalls/Jeff Woodruff (5th), Conrad Maxwell (4th), TMAC Motorsports (3rd), Brett Nehring (2nd) and Maeschen Motorsports (champion).

Contingencies were handed out as a finale, and for the fourth year in a row, were done by draw in front of the banquet crowd of over 500. Chassis winners included Earl Tice’s #29 (Schnee) in the 305 class, Clint Garner (Eagle) and Russ Hall (J&J) in the 360 class, and BDS Motorsports #2 (Eagle), Mike Moore (Maxim), AJ Moeller (Maxim), Don Droud Jr. (J&J) and Dusty Zomer (Schnee) in the 410 class.

Contingency Winners in addition to Chassis by Draw (presented to owners)…

Butlerbuilt Seat/Speedway Radiator – 305: Stacey Alexander

Butlerbuilt Seat/Gearbox – 305: Mike Mayberry

Vortex Wing/Winters Front End Kit – 305: Chris Walraven

Vortex Wing/Mufflers – 305: Steve Breazeale, Sawyer Phillips, Cody Ambers, Larry Ball Jr., Matt Stephenson

HRP Wing/Mufflers – 305: Jeffrey & Madsen 1K

Bell Helmet and bag – 305: Lee Patterson

HRP Wing/Speedway Radiator – 305: J Kinder

Kinsler Fuel Pump/Hoosier Right Rear Tire – 360: Jon Agan

Winters Rear-end – 360: Zach Blurton, 410: Terry McCarl, Dustin Selvage, Ian Madsen

Vortex Wing – 360: Nate Van Haaften

FSR Radiator/Waterman Pump – 360: Laney Feight

Butlerbuilt Seat - 360: Joe Beaver

Winters Front End Kit/Speedway Radiator – 360: Ricky Montgomery

Vortex Wings/Headers/VSC Shock Set – 360: Matt Moro

Vortex Wing/Hoosier Right Rear Tire – 360: RJ Johnson

HRP Wing/Hoosier Right Rear Tire – 360: Tom Lenz

HRP Wing – 360: Jamie Ball

Vortex Wing/Gear Box – 360: Alan Ambers

All Pro Heads – 410: Vermeer/Lewis #55

VSC Shock Set – 410: Ryan Bunton, Josh Schneiderman

Ti64 Ti Bolt Kit/Vortex Wing – 410: Dakota Hendrickson

BMRS Complete Carbon Line Kit – 410: Tasker Phillips

Hinchman Uniform and Crew shirts/FSR Radiator – 410: Glen Saville

Winters Front End Kit/Vortex Wing – 410: Austin McCarl, Lynton Jeffrey

Butlerbuilt Seat/Vortex Wing – 410: Davey Heskin

Waterman Pump/Vortex Wing – 410: Bronson Maeschen

HRP Wing – 410: Mark Dobmeier

Forgot Password?