News from the Source

Rob Chaney Wins Limaland’s Run For The Rabbit

Rob Chaney Wins Limaland’s Run For The Rabbit

(Lima, OH) Rob Chaney notched another Engine Pro NRA Sprint Invaders victory by winning Limaland Motorsports Park’s prestigious Run for the Rabbit memorial race. Limaland, in conjunction with the Lima AutoMall, holds this event every year to remember Travis “The Rabbit” Miller who thrilled fans on the famous high-banked quarter-mile in his sprint car.

The 10th Annual Run for the Rabbit got off to a tough start for last week’s feature winner, Darren Long, and Jeff Williams. Several cars stacked up in turns one and two with the end result being parked cars for both drivers. Neil Sheppard succumbed to the relentless pressure of Rob Chaney by the fifth lap and Chaney went on to claim his first victory of the year at Limaland. Chaney’s victory also earned him a spot in this year’s King of the Quarter-Mile. Ron Blair ran a solid second and Tim Hunter charged from ninth to finish third.

The Professional Computer Company Modified feature was another Jeff Babcock highlight reel performance. The first six laps were led by Andy Bibler, currently third in points, but he could not keep Babcock’s dominant car behind him. John Brooks took a wild ride atop the turn four wall on lap eleven, which gave the field one last chance to try and stop Babcock’s bid for his third feature win. Tony Anderson restarted in second with Bibler in third, Todd Sherman in fourth and Brian Post in fifth. Babcock resumed his comfortable lead and second through fifth put on a whale of a battle over the final nine laps.

The final feature of the evening was for the Bud Thunderstocks. Tim Cornett started on the pole and did a lazy spin in turn two. Amazingly, no one hit him as he sat facing the wrong way with the field bearing down on him. Tony Anderson was moved to the pole as the cars lined up for a complete restart. Just before the green waved, Anderson pulled his car off the track with a flat right rear tire. Zach Bowen led briefly with Jeff Koz glued to his bumper. Meanwhile, Jeff Babcock was finding his rhythm and by lap five, Babcock assumed the point, “waved” goodbye and pulled away. A late race restart on lap thirteen gave Koz one more chance at the current point-leader. Babcock nailed the restart and did the unthinkable (win the modified and thunderstock feature in the same night) for the third time this year!!

This Friday, Limaland Motorsports Park will hold the 8th Annual Bobby Keysor Memorial Race featuring the Bud Thunderstocks, Elwer Fence Sprints, and Professional Computer Company Modifieds. Gates open at 5:00 p.m. with hot laps beginning at 6:30 p.m. Racing begins promptly at 7:30 p.m.

Tickets for the Ohio Logistics 21st Annual Brad Doty Classic, featuring the World of Outlaws Sprint Car Series, are on sale now. Call the ticket hotline at 419-998-3199 to order your tickets before they are sold out. Seating information, plus all the latest news and information about America’s premier quarter-mile dirt track, can be found at

Forgot Password?