News from the Source

Martin charges to O'Reilly USCS win at Penton Raceway on Friday night

Martin charges to O'Reilly USCS win at Penton Raceway on Friday night

Penton, AL, - Three-time O'Reilly USCS Hoosier Tire Young Guns Champion Danny Martin, Jr., from Sarasota, Florida started on the pole and wired the field leading flag to flag in the 30-lap O'Reilly United Sprint Car Series ( main event at Penton Raceway near Penton, Alabama on Friday night. The twenty-one year-old driver lapped cars up to seventh place in a dominating run. It was Martin's first O'Reilly USCS feature win of the season. He was the series leading feature winner over the 2006 season with eight wins mostly from mid-season onward.

Past O'Reilly USCS Champion Marshall Skinner from West Memphis, Arkansas started in the third position and passed front row starter Matt Linder from Hoschton, Georgia for the runner-up spot on lap seven and chased Martin the final twenty-three circuits but could never mount a serious challenge on the young driver who seemed to have it all put together on this humid June evening. Skinner crossed the finish line in the runner-up spot. Linder held of defending O'Reilly USCS National Champion and current points leader, Terry Gray from Bartlett, Tennessee for the third position. Gray finished fourth. The 2006 O'Reilly USCS Rookie of the Year Derek Hagar from Marion, Arkansas rounded out the top five to add to his string of consistent performances.

Photo/Caption #00 - Danny Martin, Jr. from Sarasota, Florida captured his first O'Reilly USCS feature of the season on Friday night at Penton Raceway in Penton, Alabama.

Todd Fayard from Biloxi, Mississippi charged from his twelfth place starting position into sixth place to garner the Huggins Cams Hard Charger Award for the evening. Jeremy Scott from Franklin, Georgia followed in the seventh position and Chris Hill from nearby Newell, Alabama finished in the eighth position. Randy Helton from Palmetto, Georgia was ninth after starting last. Veteran sprint car racer ran Bob Auld from Largo, Florida rounded out the top ten.

A serious looking lap-twelve accident involving three cars in a series of flips including the evening's Lucas Oil Power Dash winner Don Young from Bartlett, Tennessee, 2004 Rookie of the Year, R.J. Johnson from Tampa, Florida and rookie driver Matt Reed from Biloxi, Mississippi halted the action with a red flag. None of the drivers were injured, but all three would were unable to continue in the main event.

As previously mentioned Don Young won the 6-lap Lucas Oil Power Dash. Terry Gray won the Engler Machine and Tool First Heat Race. Marshall Skinner won the Butlerbuilt Second Heat Race. Todd Fayard garnered the Huggins Cams Hard Charger award for his charge from twelvth to sixth place in the 30-lap A-Main event. Matt Reed from Biloxi, Mississippi was the Robison Racing Products Rookie of the Race.

21-year-old Danny Martin, Jr. gathered in the K&N Filters Pole Award after first heat winner Terry Gray drew a four in the inversion. Martin was also was recognized as the Hoosier Tire Young Gun of the Race, which is awarded to the top-finishing driver under twenty-five years old.

The next O'Reilly USCS National points event and O'Reilly USCS Mid-South and Southern Thunder points event is on Saturday night June 16th at East Alabama Motor Speedway in Phenix City, Alabama at 8pm. For more series info visit or call 404-886-5913

Forgot Password?